Archive

Archive for February 25, 2011

February 25 Blessed Sebastian of Aparicio

February 25, 2011 Leave a comment

Patron of Drivers and Bachelors

Another in the Dating Series:

Born in Spain, Sebastian traveled to Mexico at the age of thirty one to help build roads. He then started an early version of FedEx, delivery goods and mail along the road he built. Like Fred Smith, who founded Fed Ex, Sebastian became quite wealthy. When he felt he had worked hard and matured enough he decided it was time to get married. At age 60. I am OK with my boys putting their energy and talents to work first then to begin looking at marriage. 60 seems a little late, but I am OK with, say, 50. Sebastian out lived his first wife and his second wife. He joined the Franciscans at age 72 and work tirelessly for the next 25 years.

For all those parents of dating teens, this is a two-fer. Driving and Bachelors.

God of mercy, You called Blessed Sebastian to be a witness of your faith and discipline. Grant me peace as my child drives off on a date.  May my child’s decisions be rooted in love of Christ and not earthly pleasure. Keep my child safe, protect my child’s date from harm and fear. Grant me serenity as I wait for my child to return safely home. I pray this through Christ Our Lord. Amen