Home > March, Scotland > March 10 Saint John Ogilvie

March 10 Saint John Ogilvie

I have a small confession. I have a slight bend to sarcasm. It tends to sneak out at importune times, embarrassing my loved ones. As a result I have a soft spot in my heart for those of similar bent. My second confession of the day, I have little emotional response to people’s last words. The softly spoken words of love and devotion leave me cold. When reading fiction, I often stop reading the book when the author resorts to such writing.

All this confessing leads me to my new found love of St. John Ogilvie. He was a Scotsman raised in a wealthy, Calvinist family around 1600. He converted to Catholicism, moved to France and joined the Jesuits. While serving in France, Catholics in Scotland were being massacred. When they had laid waste to the Catholic followers, they focused on the priest trying to minister to the remaining faithful. Priests and believers begged for the Jesuits to send priests but warned they must be strong to face the dangers of the job. St. John requested for years to return to his homeland. After being repeatedly denied, he finally made his case before the Jesuit Superior and was granted permission to serve in Scotland.

He lasted 11 months, disguising himself as a soldier named Watson. When finally betrayed he was tortured to get the names of others priests and organizers. He became known for taunting his torturers. “Your threats cheer me; I mind them no more than the cackling of geese.” is one of his famous one liners. When asked if he feared to die, he responded with “No more than you do to dine.”. His sarcasm and dark humor so amused the Scottish judges, it took three trials before they were able to convict him with a straight face. He was finally convicted of treason for being loyal to the Pope, and denying the king‘s supremacy in spiritual matters. His dying words?  “If there be here any hidden Roman Catholics, let them pray for me but the prayers of heretics I will not have”.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment